Air Cadet League of Canada

Common menu bar links

Marksmanship

Responsible Officer


Capt Olson

Marksmanship Team Coach


Capt Olson

Objective

Develop an interest for shooting while promoting the secure handling of firearms.


Description

Marksmanship is one of the most popular cadet training activities. Cadet marksmanship had its roots in familiarization training with the Canadian Forces. Its current focus, however, is on teaching cadets the proper use and safe handling of firearms for recreational purposes only. The marksmanship program has been specifically designed for youth and is based on Olympic-style competition.

Self-confidence, acceptance of responsibility and sports etiquette are just some of the life skills acquired from the training. A healthy respect for firearms, the development of proficient use of rifles for sport and recreational purposes, and an improvement in self-discipline are additional benefits.

Cadets use the Daisy 853C air rifle that fires a .177 calibre pellet and has a round aperture sight. Because of the low muzzle velocity, the Daisy 853C is not classified as a firearm under federal gun legislation.

Throughout the year, cadets participate in a series of competitions at the local level that culminate in zone and territorial/provincial competitions and the annual National Cadet Marksmanship Championship.

Also, marksmanship activities are present at all the various cadet summer training centres and some courses are aimed specifically towards this program. A limited number of cadets may also fire small bore and large bore rifles.

Cadet Marksmanship Program


Remarks

The rifles, pellets, portable shooting ranges and targets are provided.

Recreational shooting periods are scheduled into the training plan to give each cadet a chance to fire.


Schedule

Training dates and times can be found in the Squadron Event Calendar.


Location

Training locations can be found in the Squadron Event Calendar.


Requirements

Any cadet, from any level, may try out for the Marksmanship Team.


Qualifications Awarded

Qualifications are based on shooting 10 pellets onto two targets for all levels. The 10 pellets are fired on the same relay. The highest qualification attained during the year is retained. For a Marksman qualification, a cadet must obtain two groupings of 3 cm on two targets. For example:

Marksman

2 groupings of 5 pellets within 3 cm

First Class Marksman

2 groupings of 5 pellets within 2.5 cm

Expert Marksman

2 groupings of 5 pellets within 2 cm

Distinguished Marksman

2 groupings of 5 pellets within 1.5 cm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Three additional Cadet Marksmanship Championships Series Pins are awarded when a member competes in the various levels of competition.

Zone

Provincial

National

Air Cadet League of Canada

Tir

Officier Responsable


Capt Olson

Entraîneur de l'équipe


Capt Olson

Objectif

Développer un intérêt pour le tir tout en promouvant l'utilisation sécuritaire des armes à feu.


Description

Le sport du tir est une des activités communes les plus populaires chez les cadets. Le tir chez les cadets tire ses racines du désir de familiarisation avec les Forces canadiennes. À l'heure actuelle, on met plutôt l'accent sur la bonne façon de les utiliser et leur maniement sécuritaire et ce, à des fins récréatives seulement. Le programme prend modèle sur le tir de compétition de type olympique.

Les cadets acquièrent, durant la pratique de ce sport, la confiance en soi, le sens des responsabilités et une connaissance de l'éthique sportive. En outre, il ou elle acquiert un respect accru pour les armes à feu, approfondi les techniques de maniement de carabines dans un cadre sportif et développe une discipline personnelle efficace.

Les cadets se servent des carabines à air comprimé Daisy 853C, qui utilisent des plombs de calibre .177 et sont munies d'une hausse à œilleton ronde. Étant donné leur faible vitesse initiale, les Daisy 853C ne sont pas classées comme des armes à feu selon la législation fédérale actuelle sur les armes à feu.

Au cours de l'année scolaire, les cadets participent à une série de compétitions au niveau locale qui les mènent éventuellement aux championnat de zone, aux championnats provinciaux et au championnat national pour les cadets.

De plus, des activités de tir de précision sont présentes à tous les différents Centres d'instruction d'été des cadets. Certains cours sont directement en support de ce programme. Un petit nombre de cadets tirent aussi avec des carabines de petit et gros calibres.


Remarque

Les carabines, les plombs, les champs de tir portatifs et les cibles sont fournis.

Des séances de tir récréatif se déroulent occasionnellement afin de donner la chance à tous les cadets de s'exercer.


Horaire

Les dates et heures des pratiques sont au Calendrier des activités de l'escadron.


Endroit

Les endroits des pratiques sont au Calendrier des activités de l'escadron.


Exigences

Tout cadet(te), peut importe son niveau, peut faire partie de l’équipe de tir. 


Qualifications attribuées

Les qualifications sont basées sur un tir de 10 plombs sur deux cibles pour tous les niveaux. Les 10 plombs sont tirés durant la même relève. La qualification la plus élevée atteinte durant l'année est conservée. Pour la qualification de Tireur d’élite, un cadet doit obtenir deux groupements de 3 cm sur deux cibles. Exemple :

Tireur d'élite

2 groupements de 5 plombs à l'intérieur de 3 cm

Tireur d'élite de première classe

2 groupements de 5 plombs à l'intérieur de 2.5 cm

Tireur expert

2 groupements de 5 plombs à l'intérieur de 2 cm

Tireur émérite

2 groupements de 5 plombs à l'intérieur de 1.5 cm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Trois épinglettes supplémentaires de la série de championnat de tir des cadets sont attribuées lorsqu’un membre participe aux différents niveaux de compétition.

Zone
Provincial
National