Air Cadet League of Canada

Common menu bar links

Air Studies

Responsible Officer

CI Buchan

Instructor

IC Buchan

Objective

The Air Studies "Ground School" program is provided to offer academic training to interested Air Cadets who wish to compete for selection the Air Cadet Glider Scholarship Program or the Power Scholarship Program.


Description

The Ground School Program consists of three phases: Phase One deals with the initial training of the cadets; Phase Two deals with advanced training of those cadets nominated for national testing; and Phase Three consists of national testing for the Summer Training Program. Specifics of each phase are:

  • Phase One. This phase runs from January to June. Topics include aircraft operations, air law, meteorology, navigation, interview techniques and general information on the aviation industry and the Air Force. At the start of the following training year, those cadets that are eligible for the above mentioned camps and have already completed Phase One training, will be eligible to participate in Phase Two Training.
  • Phase Two. This phase runs from October to December, entails an in-depth review of the material presented in Phase One with the completion of an examination in order to help identify Squadron Candidates for Phase Three training.
  • Phase Three. This phase consists of participation in the national testing, usually scheduled for the first Saturday in February. This testing consists of a written test and an interview (subject to your passing the written test).

Remarks

During summer camps, cadets can earn a glider pilot or power pilot license issued by Transport Canada. These are CIVILIAN qualifications. Once qualified, cadet pilots can operate an aircraft within civilian organizations as well as within the cadet organization.

Furthermore, cadets who do not have the minimum age required to pilot an aircraft as required by Transport Canada (16 or 17 years) can attend a 3-week summer course: Introduction to aviation.


Schedule

Thursdays 1815 to 2030 hours.

See the squadron Event Calendar for training dates.


Location

Canada Aviation and Space Museum


Requirements


Qualifications Awarded

After completing the course, two levels are possible as a Pilot.

Power Pilot

Glider Pilot

Air Cadet League of Canada

Formation de vol

Officier Responsable

CI Buchan

Instructeurs

IC Buchan

Objectif

Le programme de formation de vol "Ground School" offre une formation académique aux cadets de l'air qui souhaitent concourir pour la sélection pour le programme de bourses d'études de planeur ou le programme de bourses d'études de pilotage motorisé.


Description

Le programme de formation de vol comprend trois phases:  la Phase Un porte sur la formation initiale des cadets; la Phase Deux traite avec une formation avancée de les cadets pressentis pour l’examen national et dans la Phase Trois aux examens pour le programme de formation estival.  Les spécificités de chaque phase sont:

  • Phase Un . Cette phase s'étend de janvier à juin.  Les sujets comprennent les opérations aériennes, le droit aérien, la météorologie, la navigation, les techniques d’entrevue et de la formation générale sur l'industrie de l'aviation et de l'aviation (armée de l'air).  Au début de l'année suivante de la formation, les cadets qui sont admissibles pour les camps mentionnées ci-dessus et qui ont déjà effectué la Phase Un de la formation, seront éligibles pour la formation de la Phase Deux.
  • Phase Deux.  Cette phase s’étend d'octobre à décembre et implique un examen approfondi de la matière présentée dans la Phase Un avec un examen final visant à identifier les candidats de l’escadron pour la formation de Phase Trois.
  • Phase Trois.  Cette phase consiste à écrire l'examen national, généralement prévu pour le premier samedi de février.  Cet examen se compose d'une épreuve écrite et d’une entrevue (sous réserve d’avoir réussi l'épreuve écrite).

Remarques

Au cours des camps d'été, les cadets peuvent se mériter leur licence de pilote de planeur ou de pilote motorise émises par Transports Canada.  Il s'agit de qualifications CIVILES.  Une fois qualifiés, les cadet pilotes peuvent piloter un aéronef au sein des organisations civiles ainsi que dans l'organisation des cadets.

En outre, les cadets qui n'ont pas l'âge minimum requis pour piloter un avion tel que requis par Transports Canada (16 ou 17 ans) peuvent suivre un cours de 3 semaines l'été:  Introduction à l'aviation.


Horaire

Les jeudis de 1815 à 2030 heures.

Pour les dates de formation, consultez le Calendrier des activités de l'Escadron.


Endroit

Musée de l'aviation et de l'espace du Canada


Exigences


Qualifications attribuées

Après avoir terminé le cours, deux niveaux sont possibles comme pilote.

Pilote motorisé

Pilote de planeur